Fueled with Excuses!

Image

So I just got back from vacation. (If you don’t know who’s writing this blog then I know you missed last week!) I told myself after vacation it’s time to clean up the diet. I’ll be honest I took some time off after the challenge. I didn’t let loose all together but I did relax. But you know what really helped me get to that point in my diet; I had a lot of excuses!

It’s practically the first of May, and summer is so close! We all know the feeling when we get that swimsuit out.  You stand in front of the mirror and think; I wish I was this or if only that was better.  (Guys don’t lie we do it too, it may not be the same as the ladies but we do it.) It’s even better when you go to the store to pick out a new one… It’s almost like New Year’s Eve! The resolutions just start rolling out.  But what happens about 3 or 4 days later? The excuse train pulls out of the station and picks up steam.  As my grandmother would always say about her exercise, tomorrow is the best time to start! Ha I love her, but I don’t take her advice on that!

It’s time to tell the conductor to take a vacation, grab that journal and get back to work.  For me, working out is the easy part; it’s the fun part.  I like to lift heavy things and put them down! But I know that what really gets me where I want is what I am eating.  The unfortunate part is that for most of us, there is no big obvious issue with the diet.  As the band Blink 182 would say it’s “all the small things” that come back to haunt us!  When I think of all the small food choices I make over a week or month, I see a few extras that I didn’t really need.  It reminds me of one of my favorite books by

Daren Hardy called The Compound Effect.  If you haven’t read it I absolutely recommend it.

 

The Compound Effect talks about how each decision builds off of each other.  These decisions become habits and over time (years, think long term) those decisions have a huge impact on our lives.  You might be thinking, wow that got a little deep, and it did.  But my point is that as much as we all want to see changes in weight loss, strength gains, or a six-pack of abs, it takes consistent decisions over a period of time!  Why do you suppose fad diets or crash diets work for a certain period of time and then it’s back “normal”?  It wasn’t a true lifestyle change, something that can be sustainable for every day.

 

So what to do now? How to make healthy eating a part of my life where it’s just a routine?  The best place to start is with some guidelines.  Find a plan and stick to it, explore new options and recipes.  Not a fan of cooking, order food from Inner Fire Grill!  It’s done for you and it flat out works!

 

Check out these recourses; http://nomnompaleo.com/recipeindex a great place for recipes, info even an app! Or http://robbwolf.com/what-is-the-paleo-diet/ with Rob Wolf who has been talking about Paleo for a long time! And don’t forget you can always set up a coach’s assessment to review goals, discuss food, or work on a movement.  Take advantage of us coaches; we do this for a living we want to help!

 

No more excuses! Make up your fitness mind for what you want and go get it!!!

Leave a comment